Review of New Songs in 2015

In looking ahead to the coming year, I wanted to take a look back at the songs we began singing as a congregation in 2015; what worked and what didn’t. I try to introduce new songs one at a time and not add another until the congregation is fairly confident on the last one.

He Will Hold Me Fast  – I introduced this song in January of 2015 and it quickly became a favorite for our congregation. We’ll continue singing it.

My Worth is Not In What I Own – I love this song and it works but it doesn’t always fit in a service. We might be able to sing the chorus on its own after another song.

Come Behold The Wondrous Mystery – Definitely my favorite new song this year. It has been especially fitting for our Pastor’s study of the book of John.

The Risen Christ – Most of the congregation knows  this song as “O Breath of God” and it’s become an especially meaningful song to several of our church members as they have had deaths in their families. It’s nice as a quiet service opener.

My Soul Longs for the Lord – well, this one just never caught on. I tried it three separate times (2 weeks in a row, skipped a week, and then tried it again) and the congregation never really sang it with confidence. I think the melody just has too many surprises in it. It has been retired from our song rotation.

Salvation’s Song – We did this song twice before Advent and I’m anxious to get back to it this week.

Five out of six isn’t bad! What was your favorite new song this year?

Leave a Reply

