Be Still My Soul – Sunday Song

Be Still My Soul

I love this hymn, and how it encourages us to speak the truth to our own souls. The most obvious scriptural basis for this beautiful hymn is Psalm 46:10, “Be still, and know that I am God.” and Exodus 14:14 “The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” We are to be still because God is in control. He commands the waves and the storms. He is faithful. It speaks the truth of God’s love, sovereignty, care, guidance, and His eternal promises.

Be still, my soul: the Lord is on your side.
Bear patiently the cross of grief or pain;
Leave to thy God to order and provide;
In every change He faithful will remain.
Be still my soul: thy best thy heavenly friend
Through thorny ways leads to a joyful end.

Be still, my soul: thy God doth undertake
To guide the future as He has the past.
Thy hope, thy confidence let nothing shake;
All now mysterious shall be bright at last.
Be still, my soul: the waves and winds still know
His voice who ruled them while He dwelt below.

Be still, my soul: the hour is hast’ning on
When we shall be forever with the Lord,
When disappointment, grief, and fear are gone,
Sorrow forgot, love’s purest joys restored.
Be still, my soul: when change and tears are past,
All safe and blessed we shall meet at last.

You can get a free chord chart or lead sheet here.

Recently, Kari Jobe and Jason Ingram added a chorus. What I love about this chorus: It takes the truth of the original hymn and adds a chorus of response of the trust, hope and rest we have in God because of His love, sovereignty, care, and guidance.

In You I rest, in You I found my hope
In You I trust, You never let me go
I place my life within Your hands alone
Be still my soul.

Text: Katharin von Schlegel; trans.  Jane L. Borthwick; Music: Jean Sibelius;

New W&M by Kari Jobe and Jason Ingram

2 thoughts on “Be Still My Soul – Sunday Song

  1. Pingback: Sunday Worship June 28 | pianosharon

  2. Pingback: Worship at Calvary: May 21 | pianosharon

Leave a Reply

