Calvary Community Church Online Service

Welcome to the online service of Calvary Community Church! As the temperatures are dangerously cold we’ll be meeting here together today.

Psalm 8 (ESV)
O Lord, our Lord,

    how majestic is your name in all the earth!
You have set your glory above the heavens.
     Out of the mouth of babies and infants,
you have established strength because of your foes,
    to still the enemy and the avenger.

When I look at your heavens, the work of your fingers,
    the moon and the stars, which you have set in place,
what is man that you are mindful of him,
    and the son of man that you care for him?

Yet you have made him a little lower than the heavenly beings
    and crowned him with glory and honor.
You have given him dominion over the works of your hands;
    you have put all things under his feet,
all sheep and oxen,
    and also the beasts of the field,
the birds of the heavens, and the fish of the sea,
    whatever passes along the paths of the seas.

O Lord, our Lord,
    how majestic is your name in all the earth!

Psalm 139:1-10 (NRSV)

O Lord, you have searched me and known me.
You know when I sit down and when I rise up;
    you discern my thoughts from far away.
You search out my path and my lying down,
    and are acquainted with all my ways.
Even before a word is on my tongue,
    O Lord, you know it completely.
You hem me in, behind and before,
    and lay your hand upon me.
Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;
    it is so high that I cannot attain it.

Where can I go from your spirit?
    Or where can I flee from your presence?
If I ascend to heaven, you are there;
    if I make my bed in Sheol, you are there.
If I take the wings of the morning
    and settle at the farthest limits of the sea,
even there your hand shall lead me,
    and your right hand shall hold me fast.

From Pastor James:

“I have loved our time in Malachi together!  There has been something I have wanted to share with you, but have not and was hoping for the right time to share it.  I think this is the right time, so here it is – Malachi mentions something twenty-four times in the final book of the Old Testament.  That is an average of six times per chapter!  What is it?  Twenty-four times this name is mentioned:  the Lord of hosts.

My hope is that you will think about this name today.  Think about this name as we grow together and seek to serve God and enjoy God together.  It is significant.  I know I have probably mentioned this every week (and just so you know it will be mentioned next week too), but when the book of Malachi is finished there will be four hundred years that will pass until the events and words of the New Testament.  So, the mentioning of the name “the Lord of hosts” twenty-four times is significant if just for the fact that four hundred years of stillness is coming and perhaps from a human perspective, four hundred years of uncertainty.

The repeated mentioning of this name matters.  The name “the Lord of hosts” is a name when literally translated means “the Lord of armies” or “the Lord who rules over all.”  Our God is the Lord who is in charge.  Our God is the Lord who is in control.  Our God is the Lord who goes forth and leads to victory.

Twenty-four times throughout Malachi, this last book of the Old Testament, this is what is being brought to the attention for these believers as they head into the coming four hundred years of stillness.  Fight for your mind and remember our God is the Lord who goes forth and leads to victory.  Yes the four hundred years may have felt like a time of uncertainty and it was a time of stillness, but it was not a time without the Lord who goes forth and leads to victory.

In the year that King Uzziah died and Isaiah saw the Lord high and lifted up and heard the question “Who will go for us?” He exclaimed, “Here am I, Send me!”  Before that exclamation Isaiah said, “My eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!” 


Now when he saw the King, Isaiah saw his own guilt and inadequacy. “Woe is me!  For I am lost; for I am a man of unclean lips, and I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips; for my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts!”  Then the seraphim flew to him with a burning coal and touched his mouth and declared, “Behold, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away, and your sin atoned for.”

Imagine though, Isaiah saw the Lord who goes forth and leads to victory and when it was asked “Whom shall I send, and who will go for us?” he said “Here am I!  Send me!”  There is something in knowing that God is the one who goes forth and leads to victory. 

When we feel overwhelmed or when we feel like failures; when we feel so inadequate or when we feel like we are without help, remember the God we seek to serve is the one who goes forth and leads to victory!

It made me think about the words that were given to Mary when she was told that she would conceive and give birth to the Savior.  “For nothing will be impossible with God.”  Or “For no word will be impossible with God.”  Mary’s response, “Behold, I am the servant of the Lord.”  Nothing is impossible for the God who goes forth and leads to victory.  No word is impossible for the God who goes forth and leads to victory, so may we say, “Behold, we are His servants!”

Did we in our own strength confide, our striving would be losing,  were not the right man on our side,  the man of God’s own choosing. Dost ask who that may be?  Christ Jesus, it is he; Lord Sabaoth, his name, from age to age the same, and he must win the battle!”

One thought on “Calvary Community Church Online Service

  1. Pingback: Sunday Worship February 22 | pianosharon

Leave a Reply

