Not What My Hands Have Done – Sunday Song

I found this hymn in the devotional One Year Book of Hymns and then looked for it in my hymnals. It’s in a couple of the older hymnals in my collection but sadly, not in the newer ones. I like the recording by Nathan Clark George in this video. He changes the rhythms slightly but keeps the melody the same as the original and resists the contemporary trend to add a repetitive chorus.  (I like those sometimes but some songs don’t need them.)

Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us (Titus 3:5)

For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God,  not of works, lest anyone should boast. (Ephesians 2:8, 9)

Not What My Hands Have Done
Not what my hands have done can save my guilty soul;
Not what my toiling flesh has borne can make my spirit whole.
Not what I feel or do can give me peace with God;
Not all my prayers and sighs and tears can bear my awful load.

Thy work alone O Christ, can ease this weight of sin
Thy blood alone, O Lamb of God, can give me peace within.
Thy love to me, O God, not mine, O Lord to Thee
Can rid me of this dark unrest, and set my spirit free.

I bless the Christ of God, I rest on love divine
And with unfalt’ring lip and heart, I call this Savior mine.
His cross dispels each doubt; I bury in his tomb
Each  thought of unbelief and fear, each ling’ring shade of gloom.

I praise the God of grace, I trust His truth and might.
He calls me His, I call Him mine, my God, my joy, my light.
‘Tis He who saveth me, and freely pardon gives;
I love because he loveth me, I live because he lives.

Words by Horatius Bonar; Tune: LEOMINSTER by George William Martin, har. By Sir Arthur S. Sullivan; Public Domain

6 thoughts on “Not What My Hands Have Done – Sunday Song

  1. Pingback: Worship Recap – November 2, 2014 | pianosharon

  2. Pingback: Sunday Worship July 5 | pianosharon

  3. Pingback: Worship at Calvary: February 7 | pianosharon

  4. Pingback: Worship at Calvary: July 3 | pianosharon

  5. Pingback: Worship at Calvary: November 6 | pianosharon

  6. Pingback: Worship at Calvary: May 7 | pianosharon

Leave a Reply

