Good Friday Worship Service 2014

On my facebook page on Good Friday, many of my friends posted something along the lines of, “It’s Friday but Sunday’s coming!” And it bothered me. Not that it isn’t true, because of course without the resurrection our faith is futile (1 Corinthians 15:1-19). But, because on Good Friday, our focus should just be the cross. Good Friday is not a party. It’s a time to reflect on the suffering and death of Jesus. As one of our songs from that evening says, “It was my sin that held Him there until it was accomplished. His dying breath has bought me life, I know that it is finished.” So our music focused on the cross.

Here was our order of service:

Come, Ye Sinners, Poor and Needy
How Deep the Father’s Love for Us
Scripture Reading: Isaiah 53:4-6
The Power of the Cross
When I Survey the Wondrous Cross
Communion

“Love so amazing, so divine, demands my soul, my life, my all.”

 

Leave a Reply

