Sunday Song: When All Thy Mercies, O My God

We’ll be singing this tomorrow morning in church.  Although this is an old hymn, it was unfamiliar to me until I heard it on Fernando Ortega’s “Hymns” album. It wasn’t in any of the five hymnals that I have at home but I found it online at hymnary.org 

The words were written by Joseph Addison (1672-1719), and the tune is BELMONT from William Gardiner’s “Sacred Melodies,” (1812).

Here are the words:

When all thy mercies, O my God, My rising soul surveys,
Transported with the view, I’m lost in wonder, love and praise.

Unnumbered comforts to my soul Thy tender care bestowed,
Before my infant heart conceived from Whom those comforts flowed.

When worn with sickness, oft hast Thou with health renewed my face;
And, when in sins and sorrows bowed, revived my soul with grace.

Thro’ every period of my life Thy goodness I’ll pursue,
And after death, in distant worlds, the glorious theme renew.
Amen.

You can watch a choir sing this song (or just listen to it) here.

2 thoughts on “Sunday Song: When All Thy Mercies, O My God

  1. Pingback: Sunday Song List February 26 2012 | pianosharon

  2. Pingback: Sunday Song List — August 19, 2012 | pianosharon

Leave a Reply

